March 1, 2021
Hot Topics:

Turing Award Goes to Public-Key Cryptography Inventors

  • By Developer.com Staff

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) has announced the winners of the 2015 Turing Award, which is sometimes referred to as the "Nobel Prize of Computing." The prize will go to Whitfield Diffie, former chief security officer at Sun Microsystems, and Martin E. Hellman, professor emeritus of electrical engineering at Stanford University.

In 1976, the two men published a paper titled "New Directions in Cryptography," which pioneered the ideas of public-key cryptography and digital signatures. Today, their ideas underpin security on the Internet.

Diffie and Hellman will share the $1 million prize that accompanies the award.

View article

This article was originally published on March 2, 2016

Enterprise Development Update

Don't miss an article. Subscribe to our newsletter below.

Thanks for your registration, follow us on our social networks to keep up-to-date