dcsimg
December 8, 2016
Hot Topics:

Book Review: Learn to Program with Visual Basic 6

• November 19, 2002
  • By John Percival
  • Send Email »
  • More Articles »

When this book turned up on my desk for review, I groaned at the thought of another Beginning VB book to read. "For absolute beginners", "no experience needed", "real-world context", "hands-on examples". Yeah, yeah, I thought. That's what they all say. But after a quick flick through, I began to realise that this book was different. It was full of conversations for a start, so this book had got to be something a little different.

The author, John Smiley, is a university lecturer. His introduction sums up the thinking behind the book:

"Imagine yourself back at school. OK, so maybe without gym class, mystery meat, and the sweet guy or girl who sat across from you in Chemistry 101 (sigh!). Put yourself in a class of people just like you, who really want to learn about programming. You don't just learn from the teacher; you learn from the questions the other people ask too."

The book basically follows a class of students learning Visual Basic, starting off with only a basic knowledge of computers. The first few chapters are fairly heavy on theory, getting you used to planning a program and how Windows works. Although it is quite hard to get into, it has a lot to teach programmers, beginners and experienced alike. The SDLC is introduced on the first page. No, it's not something out of a sci-fi movie, but is a methodology that ensures that projects are built in a logical and controlled fashion.

SDLC splits the design and implementation of an application into six phases:

• The Preliminary Investigation
  • The Analysis Phase
  • The Design Phase
  • The Development Phase
  • The Implementation Phase
  • The Maintenance Phase