dcsimg
December 10, 2016
Hot Topics:

Visual Basic Database Programming Multimedia Cyber Classroom

• November 19, 2002
  • By John Percival
  • Send Email »
  • More Articles »

This interactive classroom is part of the Complete Database Training Course from Prentice Hall Professional Technical References. Also included with the Complete Database Training Course is the book Core Visual Basic 5, which will be reviewed shortly.  The install was quick and easy, and it was soon up and running. I was a complete novice at databases when I started this: I had never used DAO, Jet, RDO, or anything else Database-like previously, so I was approaching it from the point of view of a complete novice.

The first thing that I noticed at the program got started was that it was written in Java, so there was a nasty DOS box sitting in the background all the time that it was running. After having a flick round through the book, I saw the the front end was not very slick, and the font, although 12pt, was small on my display, and there was no way to change it. The window the the book sat in was also not sizeable, so I was stuck with only a small page-worth of writing to read before I had to continue to the next page. Anyway, that's enough grumbling about the interface, let's get on with the meaningful bit - the content.