dcsimg
December 5, 2016
Hot Topics:

Headache, Eye Strain, and 2000 Fever

• November 19, 2002
  • By Ronald Garlit
  • Send Email »
  • More Articles »

Its called MOD 2000 Fever. Thats right. Microsoft Office Developer 2000 has arrived. This is going to kill me. You see; Im one of those guys that poo pood VBA as not being a complete language. (I did the same thing when I was a C programmer about VB and look at me now.)

You see MOD 2000 adds things like COM Addin Designer, Visual Studio Templates, Visual SourceSafe and the Data Environment Designer. But thats not all.

There is Royalty-Free Runtime Access (yes, as in the database program) and MSDE Runtime Licensing. Whats that mean. Well, throw in the Package and Deployment Wizard and you can package and ship solution created in VBA.

Now for what really has made me sick with MOD 2000. There are productivity tools! Im really ticked over this because these only work within Office. The Add-ins consist of a Code Commenter, Error Handler and String Editor. The String Editor I d kill for on the VB side. It wont export to the VB environment. Believe me I tried.

The crowning jewel though is the VBA Code Librarian. Microsoft was smart enough not to tease me with this one as it loads under the Windows Program Menu as well as an Office Add-in. This means that the tons of code in there can be used and adapted by us real VB programmers.