September 23, 2014
Hot Topics:
RSS RSS feed Download our iPhone app

Visual Basic Tutorial

• November 1, 2002
  • By Karl Moore
  • Send Email »
  • More Articles »

Let's jump straight into creating your own little application!

To the left of your screen you should see a lot of little icons under the heading 'General'. These are called components - or if you want to be really geeky, ActiveX controls. Basically, they're "things" you can add to your program (technical description, that) - such as a button or picture. Let's see one in action...

So what are these 'things' I can add to my program?

• Double-click on the component represented by a black 'A'

An item called 'Label1' should appear in the centre of 'Form1'.

This is an example of a component - albeit not very impressive for something that holds the title of "ActiveX control". But don't worry, it gets better. Trust me, I'm a programmer. Oh, I've done that joke haven't I?

To the bottom-right of your screen you should have a box entitled "Properties - Label1". If it doesn't say 'Label1', click on the label in the middle of your form.

The items you see here are "properties" of the label. They tell it how to work - what text to display, what colour it should be, whether it should have a border, and so on. You can easily change these by typing in or selecting new values from the list.

Let's try it now:

• Click on the box to the right of the 'Caption' property
  • Replace the existing "Label1" value with "My First Wizzy Program"
  • Press Enter

Done that? Well done, you've just changed your first property! Did you notice how the label altered too?

Now:

• Click on the label and hold your mouse down
  • Drag your mouse to the upper left hand corner of "Form1" and release the mouse button

The label should have moved. Smashing! If you're still following me, I'm really pleased - you're obviously a natural born VB'er. In fact, you should be writing this article.